I too find that failure is essential to learning and succeeding. I often say that FAIL= First Time In Learning. When we fail, we learn from the mistakes we did, and it gives us the opportunity to try again, this time differently. I believe that by failing, we learn different ways of succeeding. People who have never really failed at anything in their lifetime may have never tried anything new, or may only know one way of solving things, doing things. I sometimes envy those who are naturally gifted and talented when it comes to school because they never really have to try. I sometimes try my hardest, yet I still fail. I would say that I have failed many classes many times, but the second time around, I was able to understand the material better, I learned from my mistakes and only failure motivated me to do better, and try even harder.

Rochester SAGE - Supporting Advanced & Gifted Education

Heinlein Quote

I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I’ve been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life.  And that is why I succeed. – Michael Jordan

The pupil who is never required to do what he cannot do, never does what he can do. – John Stuart Mill

I want my kids to fail.  That probably isn’t at the top of your list for your kids, but it should be.  Failure is one of the most important experiences they will ever have.  The road to success is paved with failure because failure teaches us how to succeed.

View original post 680 more words

Comments
2 Responses to “”
  1. Christine says:

    I read your definition of success, and while I do agree, real success goes much deeper than having everything coming my way. So I’ve added a few comments. 🙂

    Success is waking up in the morning so excited about what you have to do that you literally FLY out of the door
    (Real success is getting up, going to work and doing your job cheerfully even though it doesn’t come easy or isn’t what you’d prefer to do.)

    Success is getting to work with the people you love. Success is finding a way of connecting and binding them together.
    (Success is getting to work with people who are “difficult”or grouchy – and loving them anyway.)

    Success is connecting with the world
    (Success is refusing to let the world’s fickle value system dictate your course.)

    Success is falling asleep knowing you did the best you could
    (Success is also knowing you could have done better and falling asleep anyway, forgiving yourself, resolving that you’ll try again tomorrow.)

    Success is joy, friendship and freedom
    (Success is contentment in the absence of overflowing joy–even in the dark valley of grief. It’s peace even when no one wants to be your friend. It’s contentment and thankfulness even in a prison of disability or confinement.)

    Success is LOVE
    (Success is being able to love and give even in the absence of loved, appreciation, or reciprocation.)

    • Pauline says:

      Hi Christine,
      Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to read my blog. I would like to make comment that that is not my definition of success, I got that from a movie, but I do however agree with that. Success will mean something different to each and every person. A person can not define what success is for every person, and to have them beleive only that. It’s like asking a person to define what happiness is for them. It means something different for every person. Although I also agree with what you say that success goes much deeper, and it’s not about easy. But success to me is just being happy with what I do and what I love. it’s being excited that you just can’t wait to start work because we all deserve to be happy, and to be doing something we all love.

Leave a Reply

