“The Life You Can Save: How To Do Your Part To End World Poverty”

Mother Teresa of Calcutta (26.8.1919-5.9.1997)...

Image via Wikipedia

Recently, I have been taking advantage of Borders going out of business sale, of the two times I have gone, I have only purchased three books. Two on the first time I went, but the second time I went, it was close to closing so I didn’t have time to browse around. However, I picked up a book called “The Life You Can Save: How To Do Your Part To End World Poverty” I would have to say that this was my most excited purchase. I love helping people, and giving back. I plan on buying more philanthropic books like this in the future and possibly tomorrow (Friday) if I can find them. I have not read this book yet because I am saving it for when school start. Something to kill sometime at school. I cant wait to read it though and to feel inspired and learning how to do my part 🙂

I have always loved giving back and charity/volunteer work. It all started back in high school when i join the Red Cross Club at school, it was a great experience and opportunity and because of that, I learned that I really do Enjoy helping people and making people smile.

This now brings me to another point, recently I have been exploring and learning more about my culture and who I am and my roots. I have been watching these videos that my Catholic church hands about the living condition in Vietnam, and how many are struggling to get by. It broke my heart seeing how unfortunate they are and how fortunate I am to be living and to have the things I have today. I made me realize how much I want to help and the I feel that I need to help. I want to save money to bring back to my motherland and give it to people in need, or to help rebuild the country. Recently I came across a person asking if a fellow Vietnamese such as myself has ever visited Vietnam, I replied to that person stating that I too have never been to Vietnam, but I plan too in the future; but before I do that, I want to save enough extra money to bring back and give it to places and people I feel need it most, and to give some to help develop the country in any way possible. I would love to visit Asia first before going to other countries to help. Mother Teresa is my idol. She was an amazing woman full of love and compassion for others. I only hope I could be half of an inspiring woman as she was.

I was just talking to my friend and found out that she too felt the same way and thought the same way about giving back and helping people. I made me so happy to know that there are more people out there wanting to help and having the need to help. She told me that she wanted to study hard, make money to help people. I told her that I felt the same, I wanted to make a lot of money so that I can help people, and if I were to ever become famous and successful, I would want to use my fame and success to help spread awareness and to help people. It’s the reason why I wanted to be a photojournalist and work in film. I want to showcase how some people live and how less fortunate they are. I want to be able to help them. I have also thought about starting up my own non-profit organization, but I wouldn’t know what to start it up as. I want to make a difference in the world, and inspire others to reach out and help in any way possible. Any amount of donation to any charity they felt they could relate to would be more than enough to help make a difference.

I have thought about putting up a paypal donation tab on here, and using it as a way for people to donate any amount they wish. Of course I would use part of the money for my education, and the rest 50/50 to go to some sort of charity or to bring back to Vietnam when and if I do visit. But I figured that would not be the best Idea to do that. So, I have not decided to include the paypal donation here. I don’t know how people feel about that, I bring this up because I have also seen people include it in their blog to help support them and their blogs. What do you think? I have thought about starting a separate blog  dedicating to Vietnam a third world country, as well as featuring other countries and charities I felt needed funding. I don’t know.

Comments
3 Responses to ““The Life You Can Save: How To Do Your Part To End World Poverty””
  1. eof737 says:

    Follow the calling of your heart and serve where you feel you can do the best work… The idea of a non-profit is a good one. 🙂

  2. I love non for profit organizations. I love that boarder is having such great sales. I wish you all the success to come.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] “The Life You Can Save: How To Do Your Part To End World Poverty” (paulinenguyen.wordpress.com) […]



Leave a Reply

